A Letter from Senator and Author Kristen Gillibrand

978-0-8041-7907-2By Kirsten Gillibrand, author of Off the Sidelines (Ballantine Books, September 2014)

Dear Educators,

From my mother and grandmother to Hillary Clinton and countless others, incredible role models have shaped me into the woman I am today. I wouldn’t be where I am without their patience, wisdom and guidance.

That is why I am so excited to announce that I have written a book about my own life and the lessons I’ve learned in order to encourage more women and girls to power past life’s obstacles and make a difference in the world around them.

My book, OFF THE SIDELINES: Raise Your Voice, Change the World, is available now, and you can order an examination copy by clicking here.

Fourteen years before I succeeded my mentor Hillary Rodham Clinton as senator from New York, I heard her speak these life-changing words: “Decisions are being made every day in Washington, and if you are not part of those decisions, you might not like what they decide, and you’ll have no one to blame but yourself.”

Those words changed my life.

Forget the outdated notion of “having it all.” Today’s women are “doing it all,” yet we still fight for basic essentials like equal pay for equal work, affordable childcare and the support to balance a career and a family.

And that’s why I wrote this book: to share my personal story and help encourage even more amazing women off the sidelines. The women and girls of America have the power to change the course of our country for the better with their voices and advocacy. From PTA meetings and community boards to the halls of Congress and the White House itself, our country needs all of its best and brightest speaking up for what we believe in.

So join me today.

Thank you so much for being part of this. Please read and discuss this book with your friends and family to help get others off the sidelines too!

Kirsten

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Essay, Hear it from them!, In the News, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

